Skip to content

People and structure

The Authority's members are appointed by the Governor General on the advice of Parliament.

Under the Independent Police Conduct Authority Act 1988, the Authority can have up to five members. One member of the Authority serves as chairperson, and the chairperson must be a Judge or a retired Judge.

Judge Sir David J. Carruthers - Authority Chair

Judge Sir David J. Carruthers, a Judge of the District Court, was appointed Chair of the Independent Police Conduct Authority in April 2012 for a term of five years. More>>

Angela Hauk-Willis, Dianne Macaskill - Authority members

In August 2010 Parliament approved a Notice of Motion appointing new Board members to the Authority. More>>

Justice Lowell Goddard – Former Chair

Justice Lowell Goddard, a Judge of the High Court, was appointed Chair of the Independent Police Conduct Authority in February 2007 for a term of five years. More >>

Allan Galbraith – former Authority member

Allan Galbraith was appointed as the Authority’s Manager: Investigations in 2003 and was appointed as a Member of the Authority in 2008. More >>

Background: Parliament established the first Board of the new Authority when it ratified the appointment of Mr Galbraith and Mel Smith in October 2008. Mr Smith served as a Board member until November 2009. Prior to the establishment of the Board, Justice Goddard served as the sole Authority upon her appointment in February 2007.


The Authority is supported by:

  • a small management team, covering Corporate Services; Operations; Investigations; and Complaints Management 
  • Investigators
  • the Complaints Management and Review Group. This Group maintains oversight of complaints and contact with complainants until a complaint is resolved. It also reviews Police investigations to ensure they are carried out properly
  • communications and support staff.




MoST Content Management V3.0.5783